1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Information About Kerala House Boats

Discussion in 'Kerala' started by JasmineSingh, Feb 17, 2016.

1. JasmineSingh

JasmineSingh New Member

I want to plan a surprise trip for my husband to Kerala, but I have no knowledge about the place as all I have seen are the pictures which I why I want to go there.
    My main concern is about the houseboats, I don't know anything about them. I have put the queries into questions so it is easier to answer.
    Apologies if the questions may sound stupid but like I mentioned I have now knowledge.

1. What are the Kerala backwaters? If I am not wrong is it the river where boats rides are taken?

2. How are you able to take a boat ride on the river?

3. Are you able to stay in the houseboats?

4. What is the average cost of a houseboat?

5. If you stay in a houseboat, are local shops nearby and easily accessible?

2. Startlet245

Startlet245 New Member

This is a fabulous thing to do, and something I looked at awhile back. From memory I can answer question 3 - yes, you can stay on them.

Question 4 is more difficult to answer as it depends on the season, if you want air conditioning in the bedroom, and how big a boat you hire. I am not sure if choosing a room in a bigger boat means sharing the rest of the spaces with strangers, so you may want to check, especially as this is a romantic break.

3. sakhil

sakhil New Member

1. Backwaters are the place where the rivers gets connected with the sea. sometimes the water from sea will enter back into river and it is called backwaters