1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

India Travel Report

Discussion in 'Travelogues' started by Lost In India, May 5, 2015.

1. Lost In India

Lost In India New Member

I am not much of a Travelogue writer so please dont expect too much out of this. This is my first attempt at putting together my experience and knowledge about India. I am still in India so will keep adding to this travelogue as I go to other places.

The second most populous country in the world, which forms subcontinent with Pakistan, where around 250 different languages and dialects are spoken, a society (though not formally) that remains sharply divided into social classes of caste system, a history over five millenniums long, tells a story that people all around the world love to hear. However, this story should be lived... India is named after the river Indus, or the name that locals used - Sindhu. Subcontinent's population differs in ethnic, religious, racial and cultural structure. The largest percentage consists of Indo-Aryans and Dravidians. The earliest inhabitants were the Vedas, people of dark complexion who still live in the southern part of the country. Hindus are born and die as members of castes: Brahmins (priests), Kshatriyas (warriors and royal family), Vaishyas (free Aryan population - traders, farmers, etc), Shudras (enslaved Dravidian population) and the Dalits formerly Harijans (untouchables - unworthy of life). The modern Indian society does not recognize this division any more, but Hindu religion, which represents 80% of the population, still respects the laws of Manu, so there is no interference between the castes.