1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

India's Biblical Connection?

Discussion in 'Itinerary' started by Benti, Dec 16, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Benti

Benti New Member

Where in India would I go if I wanted to visit places mentioned in the Bible? I know there is mention of India in the book of Esther.

Sandy likes this.

2. Annette

Annette Member

Oh gosh -- I don't know! Now I'd really kind of like to know, though. I have always wanted to see some of the places mentioned in the Bible but I thought most of them were in or near Israel.

3. Drifter

Drifter New Member

I am by no means an expert in theology, but I recall reading something about an apostle in India. I just did a spot of research and it appears that the apostle Thomas preached in many areas, eventually meeting his end in a place called Calamene and being buried there. What I can't discover is where Calamene is (or was), so this possibly isn't too helpful for you?

4. arthnel

arthnel Member

So far I've only found the same two mentions in the book of Esther. It doesn't seem that Christianity was very widespread to the region and surely not at a rapid pace when they started venturing out to spread the word to all places. I think the mention of Calamene is to the same one in India though. The New International Version of the bible even specifically uses the name India in the book of Esther.

5. Sandy

Sandy Guest