1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Studying And Living In Mcleod Ganj Dharamsala

Discussion in 'North India' started by PhatPilgrim, Apr 8, 2016.

1. PhatPilgrim

PhatPilgrim New Member

Hello! This is my first time posting on India travel forum so please bear with me!

I'm registered to study Tibetan in McLeod Ganj for nine months starting in September so I'm going to be applying for a student visa. I was going to just try to find a place to stay upon arriving in McLeod Ganj, but it appears since I'll be staying for more than six months, I have to register with Foreign Registration Office or something. So, my question is, do I need to arrange accommodation for the entire nine months ahead of time, and, if so, can anyone recommend a low-price place to stay that includes access to a kitchen? Really any information about registering and long-term accommodation in McLeod Ganj would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Talking Monkey

Talking Monkey New Member

When you first arrive at Mcleodganj you can stay at one of the many hotels and guest houses there until you find suitable long term accommodation. FRRO or Foreign regional registration office will get your form that hotel staff will send over so you have no role to play in that. I am not sure what happens after you move into a rented house or flat, I am sure other members will have an answer to that.

3. jnorth88

jnorth88 Active Member

I would recommend seeing if there is anyone else in your program. It would be very possible to secure a very nice house with roommates to share expenses. Getting a house for a nine month rental will be much better than a hotel for that duration. And, it will likely be easier than getting an apartment.

4. briannagodess

briannagodess Well-Known Member

Hello there! Welcome to the forum!