1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Avoiding Illness

Discussion in 'Travel advice' started by tomservo, Jan 23, 2016.

1. tomservo

tomservo New Member

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here. A few years ago, my friend moved to India after college. He was a native U.S. citizen. After a few weeks, he became deathly ill and have to move back to the states. Aside from getting the right shots, are there any other things you can do to avoid illness as a U.S. traveler?

2. Chahal

Chahal ਜੱਟ ਕੀ ਤੇ ਘੱਟ ਕੀ Staff Member

I believe it's the street food which is a big risk so avoid eating at stalls on streets and always drink bottled water. I live in India and have lived here most of my life but I don't eat at such places and carry my own water where ever I go. That's all really and I never touch door handles or railings and always keep an alchol based hand sanitizer with me that I use before I eat.

amelia88 likes this.

3. tomservo

tomservo New Member

Chalal, thanks for the tips! That all makes sense. I do remember my friend mentioning that he was eating a lot of random food when he went there, so maybe that's why he got so sick. I will definitely keep all of that in mind!

4. briannagodess

briannagodess Well-Known Member

I guess taking Vitamin C can boost your immunity as well. It can keep you safe from flus and colds as well. Always, always carry a sanitiser in your bag as it can help you prevent lots of diseases if you constantly sanitise your hands. If you want to save some money, boiling tap water is an efficient way to purify it. Or you can buy one of those water purifiers, we use one at home and it's a good way to save money in the long run.

5. amelia88

amelia88 Active Member