1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Historical places in India with pictures and information

Discussion in 'Off Topic Chit Chat' started by Captain, Jul 26, 2016.

1. Captain

Captain New Member

I am a history student and need to complete a dissertation on historical places in India. I would like some help with knowing about some of the famous places in India when I was searching there was an endless amount of historical places. The only most common and popular place I know is the Taj Mahal.

The help which I require from the forum is to list historical (or at least the famous) places in India with pictures and information, including where it is in India. Which I would then put together into my words and add in a few extra things to complete my dissertation.

2. rootle

rootle Member

Humayun-Tomb.jpg

Not quite sure what you're looking for but I'll give it a shot. This is Humayun's tomb in Delhi. The Emperor Humayun was the second emperor of the Mughal Empire which was an Islamic Empire. It was built between 1569-1570.

3. briannagodess

briannagodess Well-Known Member

Hello, @Captain! Welcome to the forum!

The country of India is very rich when it comes to heritage sites and historical monuments. You'll find that every city has a temple or a monument wirth visiting. This is what makes the country a major tourism hub in Asia and also in the world. Here are some of the best historical places to visit in India: