1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Many Seas In India?

Discussion in 'By The Sea' started by Ishana, Nov 19, 2023.

  1. Ishana

    Ishana New Member

    I love being by the sea, and of recent there was a debate about the seas surrounding India.

    So I wanted to know from a reliable source that how many seas surround India, and what are their names?

  2. Karan

    Karan Member

    India is surrounded by the following seas:

    1. Arabian Sea:
      • To the west of India lies the Arabian Sea. The Arabian Sea is a part of the northern Indian Ocean and is bounded by the Arabian Peninsula to the northwest.
    2. Bay of Bengal:
      • To the east of India is the Bay of Bengal, which is the largest bay in the world. It is a northeastern arm of the Indian Ocean.
    3. Lakshadweep Sea:
      • The Lakshadweep Sea is a region of the northeastern part of the Arabian Sea. It is situated to the west of Kerala and the Lakshadweep Islands.
    These seas play a significant role in India's geography, climate, and economic activities, including trade, fishing, and tourism.

  3. Shak

    Shak New Member

    India is a peninsula surrounded by three seas on its southern side and the Indian Ocean to the south. Here's a breakdown of the seas surrounding India:

    1. Arabian Sea: Located to the west of India, the Arabian Sea separates India from the Arabian Peninsula and Africa.
    2. Lakshadweep Sea: A smaller sea located southwest of India, separating the Lakshadweep Islands from the mainland. It's considered part of the Arabian Sea.
    3. Bay of Bengal: Located to the east of India, the Bay of Bengal separates India from Myanmar, Thailand, and Indonesia.
    4. Indian Ocean: The vast Indian Ocean forms the southern boundary of India.