1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Brought About Your Interest In Traveling To India?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by amelia88, Sep 16, 2015.

1. amelia88

amelia88 Active Member

I'm wondering what made everyone here interested in India as a tourism destination.

It might sound weird or silly to some people but the first thing that made me think I wanted to travel to India was the movie The Darjeeling Limited. The main characters travelled by train across India and I thought it looked magnificent.

There was also a tourism campaign in my country called "Incredible India" which I thought was interesting too and it made me think more about visiting.

What about you?

2. greybird29

greybird29 New Member

When a friend of mine traveled to India as a foreign exchange student I became interested in sharing a similar experience. She was there for one year often sharing pictures and basically a diary of her everyday life. She worked with children and lived with several different families and adapted according to their lifestyle. Many of the pictures she shared were of the children and the folks there. Our church has a program with exchange students so I applied to go to India which I would have never done had my friend not shared her experience. I was disappointed when I was not accepted for the program as they wanted a young, strong student that was in college involved in classes pertaining to India. I hope that one day I will be able to afford to go on my own and experience your fabulous country.

3. pwarbi

pwarbi Active Member

To be honest I had never even thought about India as a tourist destination till a few months ago when a friend of mine booked a holiday there, my first reaction was really? India?! What's there?