1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Many States In East India?

Discussion in 'East India' started by Chandaa, Nov 22, 2023.

  1. Chandaa

    Chandaa New Member

    How many states are part of the East India region, and can you provide a comprehensive list of these states along with any significant geographical or cultural features that define the region?

  2. Karan

    Karan Member

    The East India region of India comprises the following states:

    1. West Bengal:
      • Geographical Features: West Bengal is known for the Ganges Delta and the Sundarbans, the largest mangrove forest in the world. It has diverse landscapes, including the Himalayan foothills in the north.
    2. Bihar:
      • Geographical Features: Bihar is characterized by fertile plains formed by the Ganges and its tributaries. It is part of the Gangetic plain.
    3. Jharkhand:
      • Geographical Features: Jharkhand is known for its mineral resources, dense forests, and hills. It is a part of the Chota Nagpur Plateau.
    4. Odisha (Orissa):
      • Geographical Features: Odisha has a varied topography, including coastal plains, fertile river valleys, and the Eastern Ghats. The state has a rich cultural heritage.
    5. Chhattisgarh:
      • Geographical Features: Chhattisgarh is known for its dense forests, rivers, and the Maikal Hills. It was carved out of Madhya Pradesh to become a separate state.
    6. Sikkim:
      • Geographical Features: Sikkim is a Himalayan state known for its picturesque landscapes, including snow-capped mountains, dense forests, and alpine meadows.
    7. Assam:
      • Geographical Features: Assam is known for the Brahmaputra River, tea plantations, and the Brahmaputra Valley. It is part of the Northeastern region.
    8. Arunachal Pradesh:
      • Geographical Features: Arunachal Pradesh is characterized by the Eastern Himalayas, diverse flora and fauna, and numerous rivers.
    9. Nagaland:
      • Geographical Features: Nagaland is known for its hills and valleys. It is part of the Naga Hills.
    10. Manipur:
      • Geographical Features: Manipur is situated in the eastern Himalayas and is known for its natural beauty, including lakes, rivers, and hills.
    11. Mizoram:
      • Geographical Features: Mizoram is characterized by lush green landscapes, hills, and valleys. It shares borders with Myanmar and Bangladesh.
    12. Tripura:
      • Geographical Features: Tripura is located in the northeastern part of India and is known for its diverse terrain, including hills, valleys, and plains.
    13. Meghalaya:
      • Geographical Features: Meghalaya is known for its hills, plateaus, and the wettest place on earth, Mawsynram. It has a rich tribal culture.
    These states collectively contribute to the cultural and geographical diversity of the East India region, showcasing a mix of plains, hills, rivers, and vibrant cultural traditions.