1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Top 10 Monuments of India

Discussion in 'Travel advice' started by SunilC, Jun 26, 2016.

1. SunilC

SunilC New Member

I am an amateur photographer and someone who also loves travelling. I am keen to visit all the parts of India and have thought that I would start by visiting the monuments of India, which would help me in my photography more.
    Although I live in India and know about the country, I am not sure about the famous monuments or say the top 10 ones, I know the obvious Taj Mahal but require help with the rest.

I need someone to tell me about the top 10 monuments of India so that I can see where it is feasible for me to travel and how I would work out this plan.

2. briannagodess

briannagodess Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome to the forum!

It's kind of hard to put just a top 10 monuments list because there really is a lot of beautiful and historical monuments in India. But for me, there's a few that stand out and a must to visit. Here they are:

• The Taj Mahal in Agra. I think everyone would put the Taj Mahal at the top of their list. This majestic white marble monument was built by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan in the memory of his third wife, Mumtaz. Mumtaz Mahal died during the birth of her 14th child. The Taj Mahal is a depiction of the emperor's love for her. Every year, thousands of tourists all over the world visit the Taj Mahal. Although it was built by a Mughal emperor, the monument itself is a combination of Mughal, Persian, Ottoman and Indian styles of architecture. It is every photographer's dream to capture the beauty of the Taj Mahal. Make sure to capture it in photograph at different times of the day. During the morning, it's a pinkish hue. During late afternoon, it's a milky white. And in the night time, you'll see it's golden hue.